Skip to content ↓


Trustees have a key governance role across the Trust and are accountable to the ESFA and Department for Education (DfE) and the Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA) for:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction for the Trust;
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent

The Trust Board, which meets at least each school half-term, has established Trustee sub-committees and School Local Governing Bodies (LGBs) to which it delegates certain decision-making and oversight responsibilities. The responsibilities of these bodies are described within the Trust’s Scheme of Delegation and their operation within Terms of Reference (ToR).

*Attendance at Trustee Board meetings can be found at the bottom of this page.

Drew Whitehead (Chair of the Trust Board) joined Evolution Academy Trust as a Trustee in 2018 following on from the role of Chair of Governors at Eaton Primary School where he oversaw the move from local authority to academy status.  Drew has worked in the IT and Financial services industries for over 30 years as a Senior IT Leader and Consultant, with a focus on strategic planning and organisational transformation.  

Keith Philpot (Vice Chair) is Head of Learning and Development for Norfolk and Suffolk Constabularies.  He is a Senior Police Officer with over 25 years’ service in leadership roles within investigation and public protection roles.  He was previously the Vice Chair of Governors at Eaton Primary School, Consultant at Pricewater house Coopers and a Strategic Analyst at the Home Office/Department of Environment.

Rhys Jarvis (Trustee) is a Non-Executive, with Sheffield City Region Mayoral Authority as a member of the Risk and Standards Committee.  He is a Non-Executive Vice Chair, with South Yorkshire Passenger Transport Authority on the Risk and Audit Committee.  Rhys is a Member Advisory Council and previous Board Member for German Industry UK, Vice Chair of REAch2 East Anglian Regional Board.  He is President of the Southwold Museum and Historical Society Charitable Trust and a Fellow of The Institute of Directors.

Geraldine Hutchinson (Trustee) Geraldine has over 30 years of experience of working in education, schools, universities and leading  the implementation of education reform and teacher professional development programmes for the Department of Education in England and for Ministries of Education in the middle east. Also held roles at Education Development Trust leading education reform programmes in the UK and internationally. Geraldine was an Ofsted lead and team inspector until 2018 working extensively in the UK and the middle east.

Kate Blakemore (Trustee) is a Strategic Director at Great Yarmouth Borough Council, having started at the organisation as a student Environmental Health Officer in 2005. Kate is currently taking a lead role in several ambitious projects across the Borough of Great Yarmouth, including the Higher Education facility and library relocation to the Town Centre as part of the Future High Streets and Town Deal regeneration funding bids, awarded directly by central government. Kate is passionate about education for all.


Cathy Armor (Trustee) is the Deputy Chair of Council at Norwich University of the Arts.  She was previously Director for People at Cambridge University Press and has worked in senior roles in Human Resources at Marsh, Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital and Archant newspaper group.  Passionate about People in organisations and the impact of education, Cathy is delighted to be joining Evolution Academy Trust.